When a Bird Flies Away

I swallow sounds like a caged bird

There is a dual with swords in my own head

Running is no choice for those weighted down by gossip

Swelled eyes from tears mark an anniversary

In a nightmare I was taken into the basement

and my heart never left the cement floor

only God knows when my feet will let me stand again

A word…a cry…a tear…and then another word…flows out of me

slow Baptism water rushes over my temples and nose and I can’t breathe

for a moment…I can’t breathe again

Moments of garbled words under drunk passages of time

So I wait with the years to tell a story of a girl

who jumps out of a cage and falls to the floor

and runs wherever the wind blows…

Leave a Reply

