Prose · Writing

This is what I wish…

I am not as good as I would like to be at times.  I wish I were more intelligent.  I wish I didn’t look down on myself.  I just keep fighting the good fight and hope people see that I am trying.  Can people really tell that you are giving your all?  What happens when doubt plagues you and you are not as good at all?  I wish…I just wish I could be better.  I want to be the writer I believe I am in my own head.  Yet, I get so down.  I get upset because I see people around me who are better than I could ever be so I want to give up.  My truth is that I struggle with wanting to give up on writing all the time.  I wonder if having this blog means anything and if it has a real purpose. Do I have a real purpose as a writer?  And it goes on and on.

5 thoughts on “This is what I wish…

  1. I once received some amazing advice, and I would like to share it with you. Just be you. Try not to worry about anyone else, and what they are doing. You are enough. You have your own voice – it is unique and makes you who you are. Hone your writing style, but don’t loose your voice.

  2. You know, I feel this way all the time: wondering if I should quit writing and hating myself for not being a better writer. Honestly, I’m sure a lot of writers feel that way and you just have to push through it. Don’t give up what you love because of self-doubt, battle through it.

Leave a Reply

