Prince – R.I.P.

I really don’t have a lot to say.  I just had to type up something because Prince, the musical artist, really was in my Top 5 favorite artists ever.  Sadly, the other one passed away a few years ago (I  am sure you can guess who he was).  Anyway…as an eccentric black kid from the South I saw so much of myself in Prince.  His music really did resonate with me , though I was very young at the height of his success.  There are too many great Prince songs for me to name.  Four of the songs I enjoyed the most were:  I would Die 4 You, When Doves Cry, Diamonds and Pearls, and Controversy.  OK.  I have to stop now because I could go on and on.  I didn’t know him personally and I never got a chance to attend a concert.  Yet, his music became apart of me.  His music meant a lot to us young kids growing up in the late 80s/early 90s still seeking our identity.  He made me realize it was OK to be black and outside the box.  I will be forever grateful for that.

I leave it there.

Leave a Reply

