My Last Lesson . . . But I Didn’t Finish

PhotoBitstrip1

List of what matters most (still on my journey – nothing is ever complete)

  • Be a good person.  I’m not perfect and I don’t strive for perfection.  I just try to give the best of myself in whatever I do and hope people see the sincerity in it.
  • I can’t please everyone.  I never will have everybody like me.  I’m no longer concerned with it.
  • Pleasing everyone isn’t important to me at all – but I want to make my family proud.  I want my parents to feel good about me.  I want my brothers to know I will be there when they really need me.
  • Striving to be a better listener and friend.  Friendships are difficult as you get older. Yet, the people who matter know they matter because I reach out.  I want to continue to reach out.
  • No, I won’t move my task list around to accommodate you every time.  No, I’m not being mean or selfish.
  • Yes, you can come to the movies with us next week.  I don’t want you to feel left out.
  • Yes, you can cry on my shoulder.  The Kleenex is right here.
  • Yes, I respect your privacy.  I am a private person too.
  • I want to give more everyday.  I want to help others smile more and laugh more.  It excites me to see other people happy.  I’m trying to find new ways to do those things.
  • Working on trying something new each week – we will see how that goes!  I’m not sure what to try first.
  • Continue to pray and allow God to lead my life.  I want others to see the value in their lives and that God has not abandoned and will not abandon them no matter the circumstance.
  • Step back more and see the ‘real’ inside of people.  Sometimes we don’t always ‘see’ people in the way we should (for the good and bad).  Be patient with people because everyone is doing the best that they can.  Actions speak louder than words.
  • Only allow people into your life that will help make you a better person and keep it real with you.  Do not surround yourself with “yes” people.
  • Take life lessons from people that are already where you want to be or are at least ‘working’ on being where you want to be.  (Marinate on this). Some people sound “nice”…..but aren’t the most motivated…so how much energy should you give to them when you have life goals and they don’t….hmmm (no disrespect).
  • Forgive, forgive, forgive but don’t be a doormat.
  • WEB-8x10-choose-joy-laura-winslow-for-lil-blue-boo

Leave a Reply

