Because I Can’t Stay

This is where I leave

Because I can’t stay

My mind packs dreams daily

Suitcase filled with aspirations

Yet, I still travel light

Prayer keeps me grounded

Knees still healing from all the falls

Did I dream I was kicked out of Heaven

Promises provided that I would..DO BETTER

Lay off the sugar and no more daddies that give good love

This is where I leave

Because  I can’t stay

I wasn’t the good and faithful servant

So I was given a ticket to fly

Off somewhere where the sun doesn’t shine

My cries don’t matter to the hypocrites

Come one, come all…see what happens

when I chase over mountains

all in my head

God was good

I was impatient and told a lie

So I travel light

Truth….death comes slowly

No sunshine where I go

This is why  I leave

Because I can’t stay …..

3 thoughts on “Because I Can’t Stay

Leave a Reply

