Writing Game Plan

Image

The laptop stays on all day because I never know what crazy idea may hit.  Story ideas can come from a magazine article, commercial, or a short dialogue among strangers.  My reality is that I don’t have a set schedule for writing. I have 2 jobs and most of the time I am exhausted.  I don’t get physically tired as much as I get mentally tired.  The brain shuts down after awhile. Life gets in the way of my time to write.

This month will be different.  I realize the month is half over and that is OK.  I will schedule time to write something every other day because it is important to me.  It doesn’t mean I will necessarily write in my blog.  I just need to get in the habit of jotting things down. Many story ideas have been circulating in my brain for the last few days and I can’t lose them.  Below I have a list of my writing game plan I want to share:

  • I have an idea right now for a new story idea.  All I know at the moment is that there will be 4 main characters and they will be in their mid 20s.  There will be 2 male characters -1 white and  1 black and then 2 female characters – biracial (half black/half white) and full black.  My first step is to create a backstory for these individuals.  I think that is so important to do early in the process. I am working on a plot.
  • I have a completed story from late 2012 that has been pushed aside.  I would like to revisit that story.  It was called Varying Progress and it was about 6 friends from college (3 male and 3 female) who were trying to navigate their careers and love lives post college.  The characters were between 25-28.   I loved writing this story, though I never had an idea what I would do with it once it was complete.  I really need to decide whether I want to edit this story and then try to publish it or break it out into other stories for a series.  My dream has always been to write a book series.
  • I haven’t written much poetry in years.  I want to get back into poetry writing and start setting some of the best aside for a future collection.  I want to publish a book with a collection of my poetry sometime in the next two years.  I don’t have enough for a collection at the moment, so I really have to get back on that poetry vibe again.
  • The hardest story I have tried to tell is the one of Elijah.  I have been trying to tell his story since I was a 21 year-old in college. It has been several  years since college.  Those of you who write fiction, I am sure you have characters that pop in and out of your life. He has done that to me and I can’t let him go. He sort of haunts me.  I think Elijah has been so hard for me to write because I created him when I was at a crossroads.  His birth came out of fear and frustration. I was raised a Christian and I am still a Christian.  Yet, at 21 I was confused about a lot of things.  The story would be purely fiction but still deal with issues people have regarding their belief system and redemption. Elijah is still in my vault. He still exists in my head and heart.  I will find a place for him on paper one day.

There you have it, folks.  Those are some things I am working on – the writing game plan for this year.  I will follow up periodically to discuss how I have progressed and would love feedback.

2 comments

  1. Brandon · March 30, 2014

    You have a man living inside your head… I don’t know what to say about that.

Leave a Reply

