Malcolm Gladwell Fanatic!

Have you read Outliers?  I love that book so much.  I first read the book two years ago.  I loved it so much I rushed out to buy The Tipping Point, Blink, and then finally What the Dog Saw. I have never been so much of a fan of any writer that I HAD to just rush out to buy all their books, read every article and interview. Never.  I won’t give Outliers completely away, but Gladwell explains his theories about how people become successful.  Is it luck, happenstance, or something else that made these “special” people become outliers.

Webster’s Dictionary gives the definition of Outlier as “a statistical observation that is markedly different in value from the others of the sample.”  Basically, something that stands out of a crowd.  I guess that was the appeal of the book for me.  I have always been intrigued by plants in nature that were multicolored compared to their solid colored cousins.  How did that happen?  Why are there so many variations of things in nature?  How come the hardest workers are not always the ones who become CEO?

Gladwell’s books explore all of these topics.  Yet, naturally, he has many critics.  Many people consider his work “pseudoscience”   They say he just states the obvious in his books without providing hard statistical facts.  If you have read any of his work, you know exactly what I am saying.  But I am more interested in the fact that he questions things that pop up in our world and wonders..how? He asks the same questions I ask myself daily. Yet, he goes after the answers. How he comes up with his interpretation of the truth is another subject. Did I mention he has cool hair?!

My dream is to one day write a book similar to the topics in his book.  I am always questioning…but now is the time to seek out answers.  I am not afraid of the truth.  I think a lot of people are afraid to seek the truth, because they don’t want to realize they have been led astray for years. I am making a pact with myself to begin seeking the TRUTH to things I have always wanted to know about.  I hope everyone will join me and do the same.

By the way, my earlier blogs were made to introduce myself, my humor, and my writing.  In future blogs, I will focus more on what is currently going on in my life.  I love to read so I will share some great books and my reviews of them, current topics in the news, and just ideas that pop up in my head.  I think a lot about the future of my career and I will definitely discuss that.  A friend suggested I write about things I am thankful for – there are so many!   Yet, I will make that a future blog as well.

**Please leave a comment. Thanks and enjoy another day 🙂

Leave a Reply

