Walk into my Dreams…

I have debated whether “to blog or not to blog” for years.  I knew it would be a cool idea, but I never thought anyone would actually want to read my thoughts on life, culture, and writing.  This is me jumping off a limb. My blog is going to be about some life situations, writing, and cultural issues.  I plan to share some of my writing here, so please check this blog as often as you can. My goal is to post once a week.  So…this is me introducing my blog..and you might laugh because sometimes I’m funny.

Dreaming with my eyes WIDE open and I want to share some of the fun with my friends. I started dreaming at a very early age.  I used to think I was up above somewhere looking down on myself as I was going to school, playing, and hanging with my friends. I felt my whole childhood was a long extended Deja Vu. (True story).  I knew at an early age that I must have been a really weird kid.  I was the kid that didn’t know slang, but could tell you about current events because I read the newspaper.  At 12 years old I enjoyed museums, reading, and jazz.  I could have conversations about politics and art with college students, but couldn’t relate to others my age. Go figure. And then the most shocking part…I was black and female….WHAT! You know how that goes…you can’t be black…a female…and cultured. So, naturally, I didn’t really fit in anywhere for years and I was sad.

My real goal for my blog is to tell my stories and educate others.  I wouldn’t want any young black girl today growing up feeling sad and lonely because she didn’t fit into the box that society tells us we are supposed to be in as:

  1. A black person
  2. A female
  3.  A young person (?)

STOP STEREOTYPING OF ALL KINDS!

This is my way of educating people and letting them know that you don’t know anyone until you know them! Get to know someone instead of stereotyping and judging. Don’t assume you know anyone because they are a certain gender, race, ethnicity, and age.

Everyone should be allowed to be their authentic self….I threw my box away years ago…come join me..

(L.C.)

2 thoughts on “Walk into my Dreams…

  1. 1. A black person
    2. A female/ male
    3. A young person (?)
    4. A young, black person with an education
    It’s like I’m a rogue elephant

Leave a Reply

